> For clean Markdown of any page, append .md to the page URL. > For a complete documentation index, see https://docs.instabase.com/admin/data-sources/default-drives/llms.txt. > For AI client integration (Claude Code, Cursor, etc.), connect to the MCP server at https://docs.instabase.com/_mcp/server. # Managing default drives > Configure the default storage for AI Hub files. A *default drive* is the storage location for AI Hub resources, including automation project files, temporary processing files, and configuration files. The default drive is also used as the location for all output when no other destination is specified. Default drives can be defined at the organization level or at the workspace level. To simplify data management, using a single, organization-wide default drive is recommended. By default, the Instabase Drive (1 TB of included storage) serves as the organization default drive. Organizations can instead use a connected Amazon S3 bucket or Azure Blob Storage container as the default drive to ensure all content remains within their own storage system. > **Tip** > > You can identify default drives from the *All workspaces* **Data** tab. In the **Default** column, **ORG** indicates the organization default drive and **WORKSPACE** indicates a workspace default drive. ## Changing default drives Organization admins can assign the organization default drive. Workspace managers and above can assign workspace default drives in workspaces they manage. When you change the organization default drive, it becomes the default drive for all workspaces unless a workspace has a previously set workspace-level default drive. You can optionally assign workspace default drives. When you assign a workspace its own default drive, it becomes the default drive for only that workspace. Any future changes to the organization's default drive don't override workspace default drives. > **Warning** > > Before changing the organization or workspace default drive, review the following information. > > Default drives are used for storing the files underlying projects. When you change the default drive, files stored on the previous default drive aren't migrated to the new default drive. When the default drive changes: > > * **Automation projects must be deleted or migrated to the new default drive.** When members open an affected automation project, they see a migration dialog that can't be dismissed. To continue working with the project, it must be migrated. ### Changing the organization default drive > **Before you begin** > > You must be an organization admin and have a supported drive connected at the organization level with the audience set to **Organization members**. 1. In Workspaces, select *All workspaces*, then select the **Data** tab. 2. In the organization drives section, click the overflow icon ![Icon with three stacked vertical dots.](/_fern-img/a83e2b40897c8c3871ed84b69fd99d990dbe0eb9bc3936ad84addb6d2ce31f95.webp) of the drive, then select **Make org default drive**. 3. Click **Set as default drive** to confirm. ### Changing a workspace default drive > **Before you begin** > > You must have the workspace manager role or higher in the workspace and have a supported drive connected in the workspace. Organization-level drives can't be set as a workspace default drive. 1. In Workspaces, select the workspace to assign a default drive to, then select the **Data** tab. 2. Click the overflow icon ![Icon with three stacked vertical dots.](/_fern-img/a83e2b40897c8c3871ed84b69fd99d990dbe0eb9bc3936ad84addb6d2ce31f95.webp) of the drive, then select **Set as default drive**. 3. Click **Set as default drive** to confirm. > **Tip** > > To revert a workspace to using the organization's default drive, select **Unset as default drive** in the overflow menu of the workspace default drive. ## Disabling Instabase Drive If your organization uses your own storage as a default drive instead of the Instabase Drive, you can optionally disable the Instabase Drive to hide it from view. The Instabase Drive can't be removed, only disabled. > **Note** > > When you disable Instabase Drive at the organization level, the [Data Drive](/admin/data-connections#data-drive) is also disabled across all workspaces. > **Before you begin** > > You must be an organization admin and have assigned a different default drive. Active default drives can't be disabled or removed. 1. In Workspaces, select *All workspaces*, then select the **Data** tab. 2. Click the overflow icon ![Icon with three stacked vertical dots.](/_fern-img/a83e2b40897c8c3871ed84b69fd99d990dbe0eb9bc3936ad84addb6d2ce31f95.webp) of the Instabase Drive. 3. Select **Disable**, then click **Disable** to confirm. > Configure the default storage for AI Hub files.