> For clean Markdown of any page, append .md to the page URL. > For a complete documentation index, see https://docs.instabase.com/admin/workspace-management/llms.txt. > For AI client integration (Claude Code, Cursor, etc.), connect to the MCP server at https://docs.instabase.com/_mcp/server. # Managing workspaces > Manage shared workspaces, including designating production workspaces. Use shared workspaces to control access to and maintain isolation of assets, data, and ongoing work. ## About workspaces A workspace is an access-gated space within an organization where members can create projects, manage data, configure deployments, and conduct document reviews. All members have a *personal workspace*, an area to test AI Hub capabilities and work on personal projects not tied to a specific business purpose. Organization admins can [access personal workspaces](#viewing-personal-workspaces) if needed, but otherwise organization members can't see or access the personal workspaces of other organization members. *Shared workspaces* are collaborative workspaces where multiple members can work together with shared resources. Some members might work together to develop projects, others might conduct document reviews on run results, and another member might manage the workspace itself. Shared workspaces are membership-gated, meaning organization members must be granted access to a given workspace and its assets. Members can then be [assigned workspace roles](/admin/roles/) to control their permissions within a workspace. Workspaces are also how you can create separation and data isolation between development and production-ready work. To support a software development lifecycle within AI Hub, organizations can have development workspaces and one or more [production workspaces](#designating-production-workspaces). Changes are then [promoted between workspaces](/automate/version-control#sdlc-in-ai-hub), ensuring ongoing development doesn't impact production-ready projects, while still allowing for testing. Control and isolation of data is supported at the input and output level: * Each workspace has a [Data Drive](/admin/data-connections#data-drive), which is included storage that serves as the workspace-level default location for input files. Data Drives are independent from one another, ensuring data isolation. * External drives [can be connected](/admin/data-connections/) at the organization or workspace level. The contents of workspace drives are accessible to only workspace members, ensuring managed access to drives used as a source of input files. * Workspaces can have their own [default drives](/admin/data-sources/default-drives/), letting organizations specify where to save all files processed in the workspace, such as automation project files and run results. You can use one drive to save data from your development and testing workspaces and a separate drive for data from your production workspace. * All apps and deployments are run within a workspace, ensuring access to run results--including results queued for human review in review-enabled deployments--is gated by workspace access. ## Creating shared workspaces Admins can create shared workspaces. Organizations at the Enterprise lite tier can create up to five shared workspaces. For organizations at the Enterprise tier, there's no limit to the number of shared workspaces in an organization. 1. Do one of the following: * In the header, click the initials icon, select **Settings** > **Workspaces**, then click **Add workspace**. * In Workspaces, click **+ Add workspace** at the bottom of the workspaces list. 2. In the **Workspace name** field, name the workspace. Workspace names can include dashes, underscores, and alphanumeric characters, but not spaces. Workspaces can't be renamed. 3. Click **Create** 4. Search for and select members or [groups](/admin/group-management/) to add to the workspace, then click **Next**. You can [add additional members](/admin/workspace-members/) later. 5. Select members to assign the [workspace manager role](/admin/roles/), then click **Add**. ## Managing workspace settings Workspace managers can designate production workspaces in workspaces they manage. Organization admins can disable local download for any workspace from the **Workspaces** tab of the settings page. ### Disabling local download By default, AI Hub allows local download of automation and deployment run results and logs. Disabling this option prevents members from locally downloading or exporting data from runs tied to the workspace. > **Before you begin** > > You must be an organization admin. 1. In the header, click the initials icon, then select **Settings**. 2. Select the **Workspaces** tab then select the workspace. 3. Click **Manage** > **Update workspace settings**. 4. Disable **Allow local download**. ### Designating production workspaces Mark a workspace as *production* to indicate to other members that it's used for operational data and workflows. Production workspaces display a visual indicator in the **Workspaces** tab. The production designation doesn't affect access permissions or visibility settings. > **Before you begin** > > You must have the workspace manager role or higher in the workspace. > **Note** > > For customers with a **single-tenant** environment, production workspaces receive priority when allocating resources to complete runs. By directing resources based on priority rather than queue order, you can ensure development and testing efforts in other workspaces don't cause processing delays in your production workflows. When enabled, runs in non-production workspaces can take longer to complete than those in production workspaces, particularly when production workspaces have increased workloads. 1. In the header, click the initials icon, then select **Settings**. 2. Select the **Workspaces** tab then select the workspace. 3. Click **Manage** and turn on the **Production workspace** toggle. ## Deleting shared workspaces Deleting a shared workspace permanently deletes all projects, app runs, and other resources tied to the workspace. Workspace members lose access to all work created in the workspace. Any drives connected to the workspace are also disconnected. 1. In the header, click the initials icon, then select **Settings**. 2. Select the **Workspaces** tab then select the workspace. 3. Click **Manage** > **Delete workspace**. 4. Click **Delete**. ## Viewing personal workspaces Every organization member has their own personal workspace that admins can access if needed. 1. In the header, click the initials icon and select **Settings**. 2. Select the organization name tab to open the organization members list. 3. In the member's row, click the overflow icon ![Icon with three stacked vertical dots.](/_fern-img/a83e2b40897c8c3871ed84b69fd99d990dbe0eb9bc3936ad84addb6d2ce31f95.webp), then select **View personal workspace**. When viewing personal workspaces, some actions aren't supported and some content, such as the **Review** tab, isn't shown. > Manage shared workspaces, including designating production workspaces.