> For clean Markdown of any page, append .md to the page URL.
> For a complete documentation index, see https://docs.instabase.com/llms.txt.
> For AI client integration (Claude Code, Cursor, etc.), connect to the MCP server at https://docs.instabase.com/_mcp/server.

# Managing workspace members

> Add and manage members of shared workspaces.

Admins and workspace managers can add and manage members of shared workspaces, though workspace managers are restricted to the workspace they manage. Both individual members and [groups](/admin/group-management/) can be added to shared workspaces. If a group is added, all members of the group gain access.

> **Info**
>
> Members can be added to a shared workspace multiple times, individually and through different groups. Because groups can be assigned workspace roles, it's possible that a member is added to the same workspace multiple times, with different workspace roles. When multiple roles are assigned, the role with the highest privileges applies.

## Adding workspace members

Admins can add organization members or groups to any shared workspace in the organization. Workspace managers can add members or groups to the workspaces they manage.

1. In the header, click the initials icon, then select **Settings**.

2. Select the **Workspaces** tab, then select the workspace.

3. Click **Add members**.

4. Select a [workspace role](/admin/roles/), then search for and select the members or groups to add to the workspace. Roles can be updated later.

5. Click **Add members**.

Or, add workspace members in Workspaces.

1. In Workspaces, select the workspace.

2. Select the organization name tab, then click the add members icon ![Person with a plus sign.](/_fern-img/8b16c1f1cb3dac86069a607e99a5e18379cf5ab2c0ff0c090fca09b06383d59e.webp).

3. Select a [workspace role](/admin/roles/), then search for and select the members or groups to add to the workspace. Roles can be updated later.

4. Click **Add members**.

## Removing workspace members

When a member is removed from a shared workspace, they lose access to any work they've done in that workspace and any projects they might be collaborating on. When a group is removed from a workspace, all group members lose access.

> **Note**
>
> Members can be added to a workspace multiple times, either individually or through different groups. In this case, a member can appear multiple times in the workspace members list and need to be removed multiple times. Workspace member searches include any group affiliations in the results.

1. In Workspaces, select the workspace.

2. Select the organization name tab, then locate the member or group in the members list.

3. Click the role dropdown, then select **Remove access**.

4. Click **Confirm**.

Or, remove access from the settings page:

1. In the header, click the initials icon, then select **Settings**.

2. Select the **Workspaces** tab, then select the workspace.

3. In the member or group's row, click the delete icon ![Icon of a trash can.](/_fern-img/fde5c4ebfaee103ef10fc55c5b5119885924befbf5e79ea1da8cbf46d20448a8.webp).

4. Click **Confirm**.

> **Tip**
>
> To remove multiple workspace members, select a list of members, then click **Actions** > **Delete members**.