AI HubChat

Chatbots

Creating a chatbot lets you collect and query a set of documents, such as business policies, support procedures, or product documentation. You can create a chatbot then share it with other users or members of your organization, so they can query the same document set. You can see chatbots you created and those shared with you in the Hub.

Chatbots rely on a knowledge base of files you upload during an origin conversation. These files are visible in the chatbot interface, letting users verify the chatbot’s answers against the knowledge base and understand which resources are referenced. Like any conversation, upload limits apply. See Limitations for complete details.

  • A chatbot knowledge base can consist of up to 100 files.

  • Each file can be up to 50 MB or 800 pages.

  • You can upload up to 100 MB in files per upload batch.

Creating chatbots

You can create a chatbot from conversations in your personal workspace.

  1. From Workspaces, select your personal workspace, then click Create > Chat.

  2. Upload the files that you want to include in the chatbot. These documents become the knowledge base your chatbot uses to develop responses. You can also add or remove files from your chatbot later.

    See the Converse documentation for guidance on advanced settings available when uploading files, such as table or checkbox extraction.
  3. (Optional) Query your documents in the conversation. During chatbot creation, you have the option to turn these queries into sample prompts that are visible to your chatbot’s users.

  4. Click Create chatbot.

    You can also create a chatbot from an existing Converse conversation. Open the conversation then click Create chatbot.
  5. Enter a name and description for the chatbot. You can’t change the name after creating the chatbot, but you can update the description.

  6. (Optional) Add a disclaimer to include in all chatbot responses. Disclaimers are useful for communicating legal information, technical limitations, or other important details.

  7. Commercial & Enterprise Select sharing and access preferences, so other members of your organization can use the chatbot.

    For community users, all chatbots are shared but unlisted by default. Any chatbot you create is publicly available, meaning any AI Hub user with a link can access and query your chatbot, including being able to view any files in the origin conversation. Although available by link, your chatbots aren’t discoverable in the Hub—only after using your chatbot can another user see it in their Hub. The ability to limit sharing to yourself or members of your organization is available at the commercial or enterprise tier. When other users query your chatbot, you are not charged and you can’t see their queries or results.
  8. (Optional) Add sample prompts to display in the chatbot. Queries from your origin conversation are imported, but you can edit the sample prompts list.

  9. Click Create. Depending on the number of documents added to the chatbot, this can take up to several minutes. Do not refresh or navigate away from the page during chatbot creation—if you do, creation might fail.

After your chatbot is created, you can access it from your personal workspace or in the Hub to use, share, or edit it.

Editing chatbots

You can edit documents, prompts, and most settings for any chatbot you’ve created. You can’t change a chatbot’s name or author. You also can’t edit or delete another user’s chatbot.

During chatbot editing, you add or remove documents in the chatbot’s knowledge base, add new sample prompts, and change settings and details. When you make any changes to your chatbot, a new chatbot version is published and all chat history for the previous version is deleted. If your chatbot is shared, other users also lose their chat history and are redirected to the chatbot’s latest version.

If you want to change only chatbot details and settings, such as sharing settings or description, click Edit chatbot details. You can’t change a chatbot’s name or author.

To begin editing, open the chatbot.

  1. To edit the chatbot files or prompts, click Edit chatbot. The edit function returns you to the origin conversation, where you can add or remove files or edit advanced settings, such as table or checkbox extraction.
  • To add files to the chatbot, click Add files in the documents list sidebar.

  • To remove files, click the Delete (trash can) icon next to the file you want to remove.

  • To edit advanced settings, click the Settings (gear) icon.

When you’ve finished your changes, click Update chatbot.

  1. On the Update chatbot screen, make any changes you want to settings such as description, sharing settings, or sample prompts. You cannot change a chatbot’s name or author.

  2. Click Update chatbot. Depending on the number of documents added to the chatbot, this can take up to several minutes. Do not refresh or navigate away from the page during chatbot creation—if you do, creation might fail.

Deleting chatbots

When you delete a chatbot, all documents and chat history for that chatbot are deleted.

  1. Open the chatbot.

  2. In the side panel, click Delete chatbot.

  3. Confirm the deletion by clicking Delete.

Was this page helpful?